Folk Rock

CD Universe - Buy Music CDs, TV on DVD, DVDs, Blu-ray, Video Games for Wii, XBox360, PlayStation 3 and Much More


Reliable $1 Web Hosting by HostBig
0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 
Silly Sisters
United Kingdom

Years: 1976 - 1988
Styles: Folk Rock


Maddy Prior - Vocals
June Tabor - Vocals


Martin Carthy - Acoustic guitar , Banjo, Dulcimer, Guitar, Mandolin
Nic Jones - Fiddle, Guitar, Vocals
Tony Hall - Melodeon
Andy Irvine - Bouzouki , Guitar, Harmonica, Mandolin, Vocals
Johnny Moynihan - Bouzouki , Vocals
Danny Thompson - Bass Guitar, Double bass, Mandolin, Trombone, Trumpet
Rick Kemp
Bernard O'Neill - Cello
Andrew Cronshaw - Bombarde, Concertina, Flute, Whistle
Dan Ar Braz - Guitar
Mary Macmaster - Harp
Patsy Seddon - Harp
Huw Warren - Keyboards
Jim Sutherland - Percussion
Paul James - Bagpipes, Soprano saxophone
Mark Emerson - Violin
Nigel Eaton - Hurdy Gurdy

Biography Picture

     The Silly Sisters is the name of the English folk music duo, formed by Maddy Prior and June Tabor. Initially they performed together under their own names, and as such released their first album, "Silly Sisters", later taking this name as the name of their duo.

    Despite its ‘awful’ cover, 1976’s Silly Sisters undoubtedly helped launch Tabor. It contained an all-star band of musicians, on the sometimes chaotic, though always jovial set, with Prior’s high soaring voice contrasted by Tabor’s more earthy tones. The whole escapade attracted a great deal of media attention and quite naturally there was clamour for a follow up. In 1988, the Silly Sisters did reunite for "No More To The Dance" for the folkist Topic Records label. More touring followed, this time selective and considered, and whilst the set was a fine record, with the duo backed by musicians of reputation and note, it failed to match the charm and innocence of the debut. However, neither singer has ruled out another collaboration.


Silly Sisters (Mar, 1976)
No More to the Dance (Sep, 1988)

© Boar  2011 - 2019